Board Meeting Highlights

The Board of Trustees is pleased to share with all education stakeholders the highlights of our recent Board meeting held on Tuesday, March 3 2015. The adopted minutes will be available on our website following the next Regular Board meeting.


  • On behalf of the town of Shikaoi, Japan and in recognition of the 30th Anniversary of the Shikaoi-Stony Plain Twinning Program, Trustee Kathleen Linder presented gifts to administration of Memorial Composite High School for their invaluable contribution to the program.
  • The Board welcomed delegations from two schools:
    • Students from Memorial Composite High School presented on the First Nations Métis and Inuit Youth Leadership Group. Grade 12 students Stephano Bull, Darlene Bull and Carly Roasting shared stories about the relationship that's been developed with amiskwaciy Academy in Edmonton as well as projects ongoing that unite aboriginal students from Memorial Composite High School, Forest Green School and Stony Plain Central.
    • Students from Greystone Centennial Middle School presented on The Bridge Project: An Inquiry into Structures. Students Chris Flemming, Kaine Saunders and Kiana Wilson represented the learning community who recently visited the river valley in Edmonton to witness first-hand engineering and construction of the Walterdale Bridge Project. The month-long project in December included connections with experts in the field and a mentorship relationship established with University of Alberta Engineering students who have visited Greystone for presentations and learning opportunities. Using the Inquiry Process, students were able to successfully connect the Alberta curriculum to real-life learning.
  • The Board approved the monthly financial report for the period ending January 31, 2015. The year-to-date deficit from operations is $572,707 which is tracking toward the 2014 - 15 revised budget operating deficit of $977,959.
  • The Board put forth Mr. Justin Anderson from École Broxton Park School as Parkland School Division's nominee to the Alberta School Boards Association Zone 2/3 Edwin Parr Selection Committee. Finalist Chris Smith from Tomahawk school will also be recognized at PSD's upcoming Milestones and Merits event later this year. The Alberta School Trustees' Association established the Edwin Parr Teacher Award to remember the long and meritorious service of past President Edwin Parr. This award recognizes outstanding first-year teachers in the province.
  • The Board approved the 2015-16 School Calendar and approved in principle the 2016-17 and 2017-18 School Calendar. Those Division School Calendars are posted online. Parkland School Division strives to provide students with quality education beginning with access to the appropriate number of instructional days. In addition, the calendars also continue to support school-based professional learning opportunities for staff to focus on Division and school priorities.
  • The Board approved the Fees and Allowances for the 2015-2016 school year. No increase in fees will occur for Transportation Fees, Instructional Material Fees and Non-Resident Tuition Fees.
  • The Board received the Infrastructure Maintenance Renewal (IMR) Expenditure Report. IMR funding is designated to cover the replacement or modernization of operating elements in schools. The report included completed projects from the 2014-15 school year, work in progress as well as projects to be considered knowing the total cost of projects to be considered exceeds the available remaining IMR funds. Further investigation, priortization and discussion will determine which projects will be completed and which ones will be deferred.
  • The Board received as information the Financial Reporting profile which reported Parkland School Division's Accumulated Operating Surplus (AOS) and Capital Reserves in relation to the provincial average and average of jurisdictions with comparative enrolments. Parkland School Division's AOS to expense ratio was at 2.86% as compared to the provincial average of 6.63%.

Next Regular Board meeting will be held on Wednesday, April 8, 2015 at 6:30 p.m., Centre for Education